Want to Learn More About Police-Civilian Conflict or the ACA? Check Out These Free Online Events!

August 19: Can We Break the Cycle of Police-Civilian Conflict? (Online Event)

Jamie and Megan Price

Date: Wednesday, Aug. 19, 2015
Time: 1:00 PM – 1:30 PM EST / 12:00 PM – 12:30 PM CT
Location: Google+ Hangout Air

The events of the past year in Baltimore and Ferguson have shown the rest of the country the fragile state of police-civilian relations in many low-income communities of color. Many advocates are eager for real solutions to break these patterns of conflict.

Join us in a Google+ Hangout on Air as we talk to Jamie Price of the Sargent Shriver Peace Institute and Megan Price of the School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution at George Mason University about how “insight policing” has worked in Memphis, Tennessee, and Lowell, Massachusetts. Be sure to check out their Clearinghouse Article, Insight Policing and the Role of the Civilian in Police Accountability, on the Clearinghouse Community.

Register online here.

August 27: Webinar on The Affordable Care Act and Its Impact on Family Law

woman, child, man (c) Shriver Center

Date: Thursday, Aug. 27, 2015
Time: 2:00 PM – 3:30 PM EST / 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM CT
Location: Online Free Webinar

How does the Affordable Care Act (ACA) affect health care eligibility, coverage, and enrollment of parties and their dependents in family law cases? How do changes in household composition or mixed immigration status alter ACA coverage?

This webinar will educate family law, health care, and legal aid practitioners about the impact of the ACA on the practice of family law. Model decrees and settlement agreements that provide for health care coverage for the parties and dependents will be covered. The presenters will also discuss how to educate the court and judiciary about the issues involved in providing health care coverage through the ACA in dissolution cases.

Register online here.  Photo courtesy of Shriver Center.